Breaking News
Sansui Colors Stardust Awards 2017 Red Carpet

Sansui Colors Stardust Awards 2017 Red Carpet

Mumba -Kabir Ali
Entertainment was the flavor of the evening as more than 150 of the Indian film industry’s technical stalwarts and artistes graced the 14th Sansui COLORS Stardust Awards. Joining hands to celebrate and applaud the sweat and hard work of the film fraternity in 2016, the awards brought the entire industry under one roof in a joyous event at the Reliance Jio Gardens at BKC in Mumbai. The ceremony extolled both the commercial successes and critically acclaimed movies that left a substantial mark in 2016. As the biggest and most credible awards were presented to deserving winners, the glitzy night of the Sansui COLORS Stardust Awards scaled the peaks of entertainment amidst many spectacular performances from the most happening faces of Bollywood. Sansui COLORS Stardust Awards will entertain television viewers on 8th January 2017 on COLORS.

The Red Carpet witnessed a bevy of Bollywood royalty like Shah Rukh Khan, Anil Kapoor, Amitabh Bachchan, Jaya Bachchan, Ranbir Kapoor, Sonam Kapoor, Jacqueline Fernandez, Varun Dhawan, Priyanka Chopra, Salman Khan, Kajol, Anushka Sharma, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Karan Johar, Richa Chadha, Smita Thackeray, Harshvardhan Kapoor, Shabana Azmi, Javed Akhtar, Sonam Kapoor, Suraj Pancholi, Arijit Singh, Sunny Leone, Diljit Dosanjh, Gulshan Grover, Surveen Chawla, Sridevi, Asha Bhosale, Alka Yagnik, Pooja Hegde, and many more erstwhile entertainers as they cheered for the cinematic excellence that put Indian films on global charts in 2016.

The evening was brought alive by hosts Abhishek Bachchan, Riteish Deshmukh, Farah Khan and Maniesh Paul, who rocked the stage with their unique brand of humour leaving audiences in splits. Some truly visually magnificent performances amplified the entertainment quotient manifold through blockbuster performances that celebrated the year gone by. While Bollywood’s effervescent superstar Shah Rukh Khan added his magic touch to the evening with a memorable dedication to some of his all-time favourite leading ladies, Ranbir Kapoor recreated the angst of one-sided love on-stage a special ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil’-themed act. Tributes took centre-stage as Jacqueline Fernandez paid homage to the excellence of melody queen Asha Bhosale and Parineeti Chopra honoured her internationally sensational cousin Priyanka Chopra with a power-packed performance. A first-time performance on stage was by Romanian beauty Iulia Vantur whose special singing and dance-based act to Salman Khan’s hit number ‘Main Hoon Hero…Tera’ created waves. Sushant Singh Rajput, further, stepped it up a notch as he celebrated all the Best Choreography nominations. And, singing their way into the audiences’ hearts were Himesh Reshammiya and Diljit Dosanjh as they, individually, crooned to some of their superhit songs.

The Sansui COLORS Stardust Awards recognized winners across more than 27 categories including Editor’s Choice, Reader’s Choice Awards and Special Awards. Ae Dil Hai Mushkil walked away with the most number of awards (6), and Amitabh Bachchan for Pink and Anushka Sharma for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil and Sultan were handpicked by Stardust’s readers as the Best Actor of the Year (Male) and (Female) respectively. The Editor’s Choice Awards saw Neerja being adjudged as the Film of the Year, and Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury for Pink and Ram Madhvani for Neerja as the Filmmaker of the Year. Special Awards were presented to Rekha (Lifetime Achievement Award), Priyanka Chopra (Global Icon of the Year), Asha Bhosale (The Living Legend), Aishwarya Rai Bachchan for Sarbjit (Iconic Role of the Year), Varun Dhawan (Superstar of the Next Generation) and Ajay Devgn for Shivaay (Breaking VFX and Direction).

On the digital front, COLORS brought the action from Red Carpet of the Sansui COLORS Stardust Awards LIVE to Facebook audiences through a specially-created Facebook Live Room hosted by Meiyang Chang. All the celebrities walking the red carpet found themselves in the line of fire of some quirky and fiery questions that raised the entertainment quotient for Bollywood’s eager fans waiting for an opportunity to interact with their favourite actors and filmmakers.

Best Filmmaker Of The Year
Ram Madhvani – Neerja

Best Actress Female
Sonam Kapoor – Neerja

Best Debut (Male)
Harshvardhan Kapoor – Mirzya

Best Debut Female
Disha Patani – M.S Dhoni – The Untold Story
Saiyami Kher – Mirzya

Best Supporting Actor (Male)
Rishi Kapoor – Kapoor & Sons

Best Supporting Actor (Female)
Shabana Azmi – Neerja

Best Actor In A Negative Role
Jim Sarbh – Neerja

Best Story
Shakun Batra – Kapoor & Sons

Best Music Director
Pritam – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Lyricist
Amitabh Bhattacharya – Channa Mereya (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Arijit Singh – Channa Mereya (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Neha Bhasin – Jag Ghoomeya (Sultan)

Best Choreography
Bosco-Caesar – Kaala Chashma – Baar Baar Dekho

Best Screenplay
Abhishek Chaubey & Sudip Sharma – Udta Punjab

Best Costume Design
Alvira Agnihotri Khan & Ashley Rebello – Sultan

Best Music Album
Ae Dil Hai Mushkil – Sony Music India

Best Superstar Of Next Gen
Varun Dhawan

Stardust Global Icon Awards
Priyanka Chopra

Stardust Life Time Achievement award

Editors Choice Best Actress
Sonam Kapoor

Editors Choice Best Actor Of The Year Male
Shah Rukh Khan

Editors choice for Icon of the year
Aishwarya Rai Bachchan

Viewers Choice Best Actor Male
Amitabh Bachchan

Viewers choice Best Film